Skip to Main Content

The site navigation utilizes arrow, enter, escape, and space bar key commands. Left and right arrows move across top level links and expand / close menus in sub levels. Up and Down arrows will open main level menus and toggle through sub tier links. Enter and space open menus and escape closes them as well. Tab will move on to the next part of the site rather than go through menu items.

News - Details

The Goal of the Year Was the Only Strike That Massapequa Arsenal Conceded as They Won the McGuire Cup National Championship


Massapequa Arsenal with the McGuire Cup

By Randy Vogt, Director of Public Relations, Eastern New York Youth Soccer Association

January 21, 2016-So how good is Massapequa Arsenal of the Long Island Junior Soccer League (LIJSL)? They are so good that the only goal they gave up in the Boys-Under-19 McGuire Cup national championship game, from Steven May of St. Louis’ Scott Gallagher, was so spectacular that it was impossible for Massapequa keeper Dan Vitiello to make a save and the shot became the US Youth Soccer Association (USYSA) Goal of the Year. The goal is the third one featured here:

The award was presented last week at the US Youth Soccer Workshop during the NSCAA Convention in Baltimore. Massapequa Arsenal sent their congratulations to the goal scorer. May’s goal knotted the national championship game at 1-1 early in the second half after Massapequa’s Michael Farese scored in the third minute on a tap-in.

“Steven May's goal was an unbelievable strike and came at the perfect time for them. It is one of the best goals I have ever seen,” commented Massapequa Arsenal coach Tobias Bischof. “I’m proud of my players that they stayed focused and kept following the game plan after conceding what is now the Goal of the Year. Congrats to Steven on his remarkable effort and deserved award.”

Massapequa’s Nicholas Cestaro and Brendan Gallivan broke a 1-1 tie with penalty kicks in the second half to bring the McGuire Cup back to the Eastern New York Youth Soccer Association (ENYYSA).

The first youth soccer national championship was founded in 1935 in the Boys-Under-19 age group. Brooklyn’s Hatikvoh Juniors won the national championship in 1935 and ‘36, Brooklyn’s Kollsman SC were champs in 1952 plus Ukrainian of New York won the title in 1959, the last team from New York to become Boys-Under-19 national champions before Massapequa last year. In 1975, the trophy was named the McGuire Cup, in honor of former U.S. Soccer Federation President James McGuire.

With over 100,000 youth soccer players––both boys and girls––and more than 25,000 volunteers, the non-profit Eastern New York Youth Soccer Association (ENYYSA) stretches from Montauk Point, Long Island to the Canadian border. Members are affiliated with 11 leagues throughout the association, which covers the entire state of New York east of Route 81. ENYYSA exists to promote and enhance the game of soccer for children and teenagers between the ages of 5 and 19 years old, and to encourage the healthy development of youth players, coaches, referees and administrators. All levels of soccer are offered––from intramural, travel team and premier players as well as Special Children. No child who wants to play soccer is turned away. ENYYSA is a proud member of the United States Soccer Federation and United States Youth Soccer Association. For more information, please log on to, which receives nearly 300,000 hits annually from the growing soccer community.